All three of Bristol’s Labour MPs back Brexit amendment

All three of the city’s Labour MPs joined Conservative Bristol North MP Charlotte Leslie and 457 others in Wednesday’s Westminster vote. 

Labour MPs Karin Smyth (Bristol South), Kerry McCarthy (Bristol East) and Thangam Debbonaire (Bristol West) effectively accepted the government’s proposed Brexit timetable, which means triggering Article 50 by March 2017.

‘I’ll vote against plan if it’s rubbish’

But Debbonaire claimed victory in forcing the government to bring an outline of their plan to parliament before triggering the now infamous Article 50, and also assured voters that her vote to pass the amendment did not mean she would now back the plan.

Majority of UK MPs back motion

A total of 461 Westminster MPs voted for the government’s amendment, whilst 89 voted against. The total number who voted against included 51 of the 56 Scottish National Party’s MPs.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.